Indian Sweets! I Want, I Eat…

Recently I have been craving Indian food, specifically Indian sweets.  Is it just me or do they get better since the day they have been made? I am the type of person that will go to a bakery to pick up goodies and keep them in the fridge so I can nibble on them a little bit each day. That way I can have them longer and not feel as guilty about eating them haha.

The first time I tried Indian sweets was at an anniversary party of a cousin of mine. The party was held at the Tandoor Restaurant in Orange, California-wait that wasn’t the first time. The first time was actually at a friend’s house back in grade school…Well the second time was at this restaurant.  They had this unique dinner buffet with several kinds of chutney, veggies, and chicken.  My mouth was on fire half the time, but it was all very tasty.

IMG_20140614_184715 IMG_20140614_202520

Dessert were these little round donuts that were in a syrup of some sort and what my cousin said was a type of Indian cheese. ( I later found out that the donuts were called, Gulab Jamun, and the cheese was Rasgulla.) They were amazing!!! The Gulab Jamun was soft and chewy and the syrup just gushed as you bit into it.  Then the Rasgulla didn’t taste like a typical tangy cheese at all..that one was kind of hard to describe cause it has like a milky kind of spongey texture but still really good!

IMG_20140614_202530IMG_20140614_202524

I liked these sweets so much that a month later for my birthday I wanted to take a trip to the local Indian bakery.

The Indian bakery that we went to was Ambala in Artesia, California (or better known as Little India). They had a ton of variety of things; I wanted to try them all but I knew that would’ve resulted in a stomach ache lol.

IMG_20140716_113053 IMG_20140716_113117

Ambala also has a decent lunch menu for actual “food, food” but what I really was after was the Galub Jamun and the Rasgulla…And they had it!!!

IMG_20140716_150126

IMG_20140716_150714IMG_20140716_150458

Same great taste that I experienced at the party. I also tried another sweet. It was very interesting; to me it kind of felt like I was eating a ball of sand.  Don’t get me wrong it was tasty, however; I am not a fan of eating sand, even if it is made out of sugar haha.

IMG_20140716_150301

I do see myself coming to this bakery again. I do have to watch it though cause I am getting into optimum skating shape again. Indian sweets count as a bread right? Since they are made with different types of grains and nuts…;)

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Where do you get some of these Indian cakes? My Loaded Gun Diet allows me to eat one a day.

    1. melannew says:

      Lol. If you are in SoCal you can get them at the Ambala bakery in Artesia. If not you can probably order them online or if you are up to it look for Indian Sweets on pintrest and try out a recipe 🙂

Leave a comment